Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning

Board of Early Care and Learning

Supporting and guiding the mission and vision of Bright from the Start: Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning

The Agency will hold its next quarterly board meeting on August 18, 2016, starting at 9 a.m. at 2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, SE, East Tower, 8th floor, Oak Room, Atlanta, GA 30334. A public comment period will be held beginning at 1 p.m. Speakers should sign-in to speak before 1 p.m. If no guest speakers have arrived by 1 p.m., the board will resume its regular meeting. If no guest speakers arrive by the end of the board's regular business meeting, the board will adjourn. The purpose of the public comment period is to give the public an opportunity to make comments to the board about early childhood care and education in Georgia or about proposed revisions to the state's licensing rules and regulations. Click here for information about proposed rule changes.

Following are dates for the 2016 quarterly meetings of the Board of Early Care and Learning:

  • 1st Quarter: February 18, 2016
  • 2nd Quarter: May 12, 2016
  • 3rd Quarter: August 18, 2016
  • 4th Quarter: November 10, 2016

Agenda, presentations and minutes for board meetings for the current year will be posted below by quarter. Approved minutes from previous board meetings as well as meeting agendas and presentations for board meetings starting in 2014 can be viewed under the Archive tab. Click here for meeting agendas and presentations from board meetings held before 2014.

District Map
District Map
Board Members:
  • (001) First Congressional District - Kay Ford, Midway, GA
  • (002) Second Congressional District - Susan Harper, Albany, GA (Secretary)
  • (003) Third Congressional District - Kathy Howell, Carollton, GA
  • (004) Fourth Congressional District - Phil Davis, Stone Mountain, GA
  • (005) Fifth Congressional District - Carlene Talton, Decatur, GA
  • (006) Sixth Congressional District - Dawnn Henderson, Marietta, GA
  • (007) Seventh Congressional District - Vacant
  • (008) Eighth Congressional District - Luann Purcell, Ed.D., Warner Robins, GA (Vice Chair)
  • (009) Ninth Congressional District - Sheri P. Hooper, Gainesville, GA
  • (010) Tenth Congressional District - Janice Gallimore, Greensboro, GA
  • (011) Eleventh Congressional District - Victor Morgan, Cartersville, GA (Chair)
  • (012) Twelfth Congressional District - Jerri Kropp, Statesboro, GA
  • (013) Thirteenth Congressional District - Vacant
  • (014) Fourteenth Congressional District - Tangela Johnson, Cohutta, GA

To contact a board member, call 404-651-7432 or click on the board member's name.