skip to the main content area of this page
License Fee Information

Georgia law requires annual license fees for all licensed child care programs. Bright from the Start will e-mail a notice to all licensed programs before their current license expires and will begin collecting license fees on November 1, 2015 for the 2016 calendar year.

Payment of the annual license fee is due by December 1, 2015. Paying online is quick and convenient.

Georgia law requires verification of lawful presence in the United States before a license can be issued. You cannot pay your license fee or receive your 2016 license until the verification of lawful presence requirements are completed. You can find Lawful Presence Information here.

Family providers must also complete the Disclosure Statement at before the license fee can be paid.

Log into DECAL KOALA to pay fee online >>>

You can also pay your license fee by sending a money order, certified check or cashier’s check, payable to Bright from the Start: Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning, to:

Bright from the Start: Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive SE, 670 East Tower
Atlanta, Georgia 30334

Include the name and license number of your child care program on your money order, certified check or cashier’s check for quick and accurate processing.

The annual license fees are as follows:

Facility Capacity Fee Amount Late Fee
(after 12/31/2015)
25 Children or less $50 $25
26 to 50 Children $100 $50
51 to 100 Children $150 $75
101 to 200 Children $200 $100
More than 200 Children $250 $125

Note: The law authorizes Bright from the Start to "impose a late fee of up to $250.00 for failure of an early care and education program to pay the annual fee for licensure within 30 days of due date as established by the department." See O.C.G.A. Section 20-1A-12(c)(7). A late fee in the amount of half of the license fee for your child care program will be added to your fee amount after December 31, 2015, as shown in the above chart.

All current licenses expire December 31, 2015.

  • If you pay the license fee online with a credit card, or send a certified check, cashier’s check or money order, Bright from the Start will e-mail your 2016 license certificate to the e-mail address on file as soon as the payment is processed.
  • If you pay the license fee payment online with an electronic check, Bright from the Start will e-mail the 2016 license certificate to you after 30 days.

Bright from the Start will continue to update you with additional information via e-mail and postings to our website, It is critical that we have your current e-mail address because we communicate all information using the e-mail address we have on file for you. You can update your e-mail address at

License fees: contact
Affidavit/Affirmation: contact
Or call 404-657-5562

Quality Rated

Facility Health, Safety & Quality Reports

Facility License Revocations

At Your Service...