Cars, SUVs, Mini-Vans

+ Station Wagons

Georgia Law:

» Every occupant under the age of 18 must be restrained and children
under age 8 and under 4’9" (57" inches) must be in an approved car
seat or booster seat.

» The car seat or booster seat must be installed and used according to
the manufacturer’s instructions.

e All children must be in the back seat*

Best Practice:

» Before using a lap/shoulder belt, a safer alternative for children
ages 8-12 is to use a booster seat until they reach 4’9" (57 inches).

» Children under age 13 should ride in the back seat.

» A properly fitted seat belt should lie across the upper thighs and be
snug across the shoulder and chest to restrain the child safely in a crash.
It should not rest on the stomach area or across the neck.

AN IMPROPERLY FITTED SEAT BELT, WITH THE SHOULDER BELT
PLACED UNDER THE ARM OR BEHIND THE BACK, IS NEITHER LEGAL
NOR SAFE FOR CHILDREN OR ADULTS. IN A CRASH, THIS TYPE OF
IMPROPER USE CAN LEAD TO SERIOUS INJURIES TO THE HEAD,
SPINE OR INTERNAL ORGANS.

*If all rear seating positions are occupied by other children, Georgia Law does allow a child under 8 to be in an
appropriate car seat/booster seat in the front seat provided they are not rear-facing.

For questions or more information contact the Child Occupant Safety Program
PHONE: 404-463-1487 | EMAIL: injury@dph.ga.gov
Georgia Code 40-8-76 Child Restraint Requirements and 40-8-76.1 Seat Belts.

https://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/gacode, insert code number in search box to see additional exceptions.
Child Care Services — Rules, CCLC 591-1-1-.36(4)(f)1, FCCLH 290-2-3-.11(2)(j)

Georgia Department of Public Health

This series of Fact Sheets is intended to inform child care professionals about Georgia law and transporting children safely. REVISED April 2017



Child Safety Restraint Systems (CSRS)

All Child Safety Restraint Systems (CSRS) must be used according to the CSRS
and vehicle instructions.

1. REAR-FACING ONLY CAR SEAT

Place the child in the seat. Harness straps should be at or below the shoulders and
snug so that you cannot pinch the webbing together at the shoulders. The chest clip
should be at armpit level. Install the seat at an angle, not more than 45 degrees from
vertical, follow car seat instructions. Keep a child rear-facing until he/she has reached
the maximum weight or height limit specified by the car seat manufacturer.

BEST PRACTICE: The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) & most car seat manufacturer’s
recommend keeping a child rear-facing until he/she is at least 2 years of age.

2. CONVERTABLE, REAR-FACING + FORWARD-FACING CAR SEAT

While Rear-facing same as # 1. Forward-facing at age 2. Place the child in the seat. The seat
seat should be in upright position. Harness straps should be at or above the shoulders
and snug so that you cannot pinch the webbing together at the shoulders. The chest clip
should be at armpit level.

BEST PRACTICE: The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) & most car seat manufacturer’s
recommend keeping a child rear-facing until he/she is at least 2 years of age.

3. COMBINATION CAR SEAT, FORWARD-FACING + BOOSTER SEAT

Same as #2 for forward-facing. When the child has reached the maximum weight or
height limit allowed by the car seat manufacturer for the harness, follow the instructions
for removal of the harness straps and buckle. The seat becomes a booster seat and must
be used with the lap and shoulder belt. It cannot be used with a lap belt only. Use the
booster seat until the child has reached the 4’9" height (57’) or the upper weight limit
of the seat (80-100+ pounds).

4. HIGH-BACK BOOSTER

Use a high-back booster only after the child has outgrown the forward-facing car seat with
the harness, at least age 4 or 5. Some of these boosters can be adjusted to fit the child’s
height. The booster seat must be used with a lap and shoulder belt. It cannot be used with
the lap belt only. Position the lap belt below the arm rest and the shoulder belt between
the neck and the arm of the child. Use the booster seat until the child has reached the
4’9" height (57’) or the upper weight limit of the seat (80-100+ pounds).

5. BACKLESS BOOSTER SEAT

A backless booster seat can only be used in a vehicle that has headrests or high seat backs.
Use a backless booster only after the child has outgrown the forward-facing car seat. At
least age 4 or 5. The booster seat must be used with a lap and shoulder belt. It cannot be
used with a lap belt only. Position the lap belt below the arm rest and the shoulder belt
between the neck and arm of the child. Use the booster seat until the child has reached the
4’9" height (57’) or the upper weight limit of the seat (80-100+ pounds).

6. LAP BELT ONLY

A lap belt only position in the vehicle should be used for installation of a car seat and not
for a child. Lap belts do not provide upper body protection. As a result, serious head, spine
and/or neck injuries can occur in a crash.

BEST PRACTICE: Keep the child in the CSRS as long as possible, until the child outgrows the
seat by weight or height.




Installation Tips and Things to Consider
Cars, SUVs, Mini-Vans and Station Wagons

* Always follow the Child Safety Restraint System (CSRS) instructions for use and installation.

* Install using the seat belt or lower anchors — Do not use both. Read your vehicle owner’s manual for
information about how to lock your seat belts or location and use of LATCH connections
(LATCH - Lower Anchors and Tethers for Children).

* Some vehicles are equipped with inflatable seat belt systems in the rear seating positions. Many CSRS do
not permit installation with this type of seat belt system; consult your vehicle owner’s manual and CSRS
manufacturer’s instructions or contact the CSRS manufacturer directly if additional explanation is needed.

¢ Place the CSRS on vehicle seat in the proper direction at the correct recline angle or upright position.

* Put the seat belt or lower anchor strap through the appropriate belt path for the direction of the seat.
Convertible seats will have two paths, one for rear-facing and one for forward-facing.

* Buckle the seat belt or the lower anchor clips to anchors. Place your hand in the CSRS seat and press the
vehicle seat cushion down and pull any slack out of the seat belt or lower anchor strap. Lock the seat belt.
For forward-facing installations, follow instructions for use of tether-strap. Check for tightness after
installation and before each use. Place hands on each side of the CSRS (near the belt path). There should
be no more than 1 inch of side-to-side or forward movement at the belt path.

* Keep the child in the CSRS as long as possible, until the child outgrows the seat by weight or height.

* WARNING! A rear-facing CSRS should never be installed in the front seat of a car, SUV or 12/15 passenger
van. If you must put a forward-facing seat in the front, when all other seating positions are occupied by other
children, make sure the vehicle seat is as far back as possible, especially if there is an air bag present.
Also, make sure the CSRS is securely installed to maximize the distance between the child and the airbag
and/or dashboard.

* Never make changes to a CSRS to make it fit.

* All CSRS have labels on the seat with the manufacturer’s contact information. Always register CSRS with
the manufacturer either on-line or by mailing in the registration card. CSRS have expiration dates indicating
when the CSRS should be replaced; expiration dates will vary by manufacturer.

* CSRS should always be purchased new and not from yard sales, consignment stores or thrift shops.

* |f the CSRS has been involved in a crash, check with the CSRS manufacturer for guidelines on replacing
the product.

For questions or more information contact the Child Occupant Safety Program
PHONE: 404-463-1487 | EMAIL: injury@dph.ga.gov



Resources
Cars, SUVs, Mini-Vans and Station Wagons

* National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) — http://www.nhtsa.gov/safety/cps
Installation videos, ease of use ratings, latest information

* NHTSA Consumer Advisory: 15 Passenger Van
https://www.nhtsa.gov/press-releases/consumer-advisory-nhtsa-reissues-15-passenger-van-safety-caution

* The Ultimate Car Seat Guide, Safe Kids Worldwide — Practical Tips to Keep Kids Safe in Cars,
https://www.safekids.org/ultimate-car-seat-guide/

* NHTSA - Guideline for Safe Transportation of Pre-School Age Children in School Buses
February 1999, http://www.nhtsa.gov/people/injury/buses/guidel999/prekfinal.htm

* NHTSA —School Bus Driver In-Service Safety Series — This refresher training provides 9 lesson modules on
driving a school bus. https://one.nhtsa.gov/people/injury/buses/updatedweb/index.html

* American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) — www.healthychildren.org, click on Safety & Prevention for current
recommendations, other helpful resources

. Safety Equipment — Multi-Function School Activity Bus (MFSAB) / School Bus
C E White — www.cewhite.com, integrated seats
- BesilInc. — www.besi-inc.com, add-on seats
- EZOn products - http://ezonpro.com
- IMMI/Safeguard - https://www.safeguardseat.com/, adjustable lap/shoulder belts and other
school bus information

* Georgia Code 40-8-76 Child Restraint Requirements and 40-86.1 Seat Belts
https://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/gacode, type code number in search box to see additional exceptions.

* Recalls — www.recalls.gov
To provide better service in alerting the American people to unsafe, hazardous or defective products, six
federal agencies with vastly different jurisdictions have joined together to create this sites as a one stop
shop for U. S. Government recalls.

* National Child Passenger Safety Certification — A program of Safe Kids Worldwide http://cert.safekids.org

* Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety — www.gohs.state.ga.us

Trusted Internet Sources: NHTSA - Safe Kids Worldwide or USA « GA Department of Public Health-Injury
Prevention « American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) « Car Seat, Vehicle and School Bus Manufacturers
« Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP)

For questions or more information contact the Child Occupant Safety Program
PHONE: 404-463-1487 | EMAIL: injury@dph.ga.gov



