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591-3-1-.01 Legal Authority 

 

These rules are adopted and published pursuant to the Official Code of Georgia Annotated (O.C.G.A.) Sec. 20-1A-1 

et seq. 

Authority: O.C.G.A. § 20-1A-1 et seq. 

  



3 
 

 

591-3-1-.02 Title and Purpose 

 

These rules shall be known as the Rules and Regulations for Support Centers. 

 

The purpose of these rules is to provide for the registration of Support Centers within Georgia to allow such entities 

to initiate the criminal records check process for those individuals eligible to provide services to applicable 

programs for the care of children.  

Authority: O.C.G.A. § 20-1A-1 et seq. 
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591-3-1-.03 Definitions 

 

In these rules, unless the context otherwise requires, the words and phrases set forth herein shall mean the following: 

(a) "Adult" means any competent individual eighteen (18) years of age or older. 

(b) "Child" or "Children" means any person(s) under 18 years of age for whom child care service(s) is (are) provided 

in an Early Care and Learning Program.  

(c) “Child Care Learning Center” or “Center” means any place operated by an individual or business entity 

authorized under Georgia law wherein are received for pay for group care for less than 24 hours per day, without 

transfer of legal custody, seven or more children under 18 years of age and which is required to be licensed. 

(d) "Crime" means 

   1. Any felony; 

   2. A violation of O.C.G.A. Sec. 16-5-23, relating to simple battery, where the victim is a minor;  

   3. A violation of O.C.G.A. Sec. 16-5-23.1, relating to battery, where the victim is a minor; 

   4. A violation of O.C.G.A. Sec. 16-21-1, relating to contributing to the delinquency of a minor; 

   5. A violation of O.C.G.A. Sec. 16-6-1 et seq., relating to sexual offenses; 

   6. A violation of O.C.G.A. Sec. 16-4-1, relating to criminal attempt when the crime attempted is any of the crimes 

specified by this paragraph; or 

   7. Any other offenses committed in another jurisdiction which, if committed in this state, would be one of the 

enumerated crimes listed in this paragraph. 

(e) "Criminal Record" means: 

   1. Conviction of a crime; or 

   2. Arrest, charge, and sentencing for a crime where: 

       (i) A plea of nolo contendere was entered to the charge; or 

       (ii) First offender treatment without adjudication of guilt pursuant to the charge was granted; provided, 

however, that this division shall not apply to a violation of O.C.G.A. 16-13-1 et seq., relating to controlled 

substances, or any other offense committed in another jurisdiction which, if it were committed in this state, would be 

a violation of O.C.G.A. Sec. 16-13-1 et seq. if such violation or offense constituted only simple possession; or 

       (iii) Adjudication or sentence was otherwise withheld or not entered on the charge; provided, however, that this 

division shall not apply to a violation of O.C.G.A. Sec. 16- 13-1 et seq. relating to controlled substances, or any 

other offense committed in another jurisdiction which, if it were committed in this state, would be a violation of 

Chapter 13 of Title 16 if such violation or offense constituted only simple possession; or 

   3. Arrest and being charged for a crime if the charge is pending, unless the time for prosecuting such crime has 

expired pursuant to O.C.G.A. Sec. 17-3-1 et seq. 
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(f) "Department" means the Bright from the Start: Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning. 

(g) “Early Care and Education Program” or “Program” means any Family Child Care Learning Home, Child Care 

Learning Center or Support Center. 

(h) "Eligible Employee" means any person who is 17 years of age or older and is a potential director, employee, 

volunteer, independent contractor or Student-in-Training of an Early Care and Education Program seeking a 

Fingerprint Records Check Determination through a Support Center. 

 (i) "Family Child Care Learning Home" or "Home" means a private residence operated by any person who receives 

therein for pay for supervision and care fewer than 24 hours per day, without transfer of legal custody, at least three 

but not more than six children under 13 years of age who are not Related to such persons and whose Parent(s) or 

guardians are not residents in the same private residence as the Provider; provided, however, that the total number of 

unrelated Children cared for in such Home, for pay and not for pay, may not exceed six Children under 13 years of 

age at one time, except that a Provider may care for two additional children three years of age or older for two 

designated one hour periods daily upon approval by the Department. 

(j) “Fingerprint” means any inked fingerprint card or an electronic image of a person’s fingerprint. 

(k) “Fingerprint Records Check Application” means a document created by the Department to be completed and 

submitted to the Department by every actual and potential Provider and Employee (including independent 

contractors, volunteers, Students-in-Training) of a Program that cares for children and that indicates the individual’s 

name, facility type, and such other information as the Department deems appropriate and which authorizes the 

Department to receive and render a Fingerprint Records Check Determination pursuant to any criminal history 

record information received pertaining to the individual from any local, state, or national criminal justice or law 

enforcement agency. 

(l) "Fingerprint Records Check Determination" means a satisfactory or unsatisfactory determination made by the 

Department that is based on national criminal history record information obtained by the use of Fingerprints. 

(m) “Registration” means a certificate issued by the Department to a Support Center applicant granting the applicant 

permission to operate a Support Center in accordance with these rules. 

(n) "Satisfactory Records Check Determination" means a written determination that a person for whom either a 

preliminary or a fingerprint records check was performed was found to have no Criminal Record as defined in these 

rules. 

(o) “Student-in-Training” means a student currently enrolled in either a high school recognized by the Department 

of Education or an early education curriculum through an accredited school of higher education which requires or 

permits the student to observe and participate in the care of Children at a Program during a limited period of time, 

i.e., one quarter, one trimester or one semester, provided that they are under the direct supervision of Program 

personnel at all times when caring for Children.  Sixteen-year-old or younger Students-in-Training are exempt from 

criminal record check requirements.   

(p) “Support Center” means any business entity, including but not limited to temporary staffing agencies, 

universities, and independent contractors, that receives no children for care and that is granted a Registration by the 

Department for the purpose of initiating the criminal records check process for an Eligible Employee of any 

licensed, commissioned or permitted Early Care and Education Program. 

(q) "Unsatisfactory Records Check Determination" means a written determination that a person for whom either a 

preliminary or a fingerprint records check was performed has a Criminal Record as defined in these rules. 

Authority: O.C.G.A. § 20-1A-1 et seq. 
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591-3-1-.04 Support Center Requirements and Registration Applications 

(1) Support Center Requirements 

(a) No person or business entity authorized under Georgia law shall operate a Support Center unless a Registration 

has been obtained from the Department. 

(b) A Registration to operate a Support Center is not transferable in any way. A change of business ownership or 

address requires a new Registration to be issued by the Department. Each Registration shall become invalid 

immediately upon the final sale or closure of the Support Center, or upon the suspension, revocation, or restriction 

of the Registration. 

(c) The Registration shall be automatically renewed each year unless the Registration is voluntarily surrendered by 

the holder or suspended or revoked by the Department. 

(d) A Support Center shall not knowingly make any false statement in connection with a Fingerprint Records Check 

Application or change of ownership. 

(e) A Support Center shall report to the Department any known arrest for a Crime or change in the Satisfactory 

Records Check Determination or Criminal Record of any Eligible Employee within twenty-four (24) hours or the 

next work day. 

(f) A Support Center may submit Fingerprint Records Check Applications for Eligible Employees to the Department 

in accordance with guidelines set forth by the Department. 

(g) A Support Center applicant shall comply with these rules and regulations and Georgia law. 

(2) Registration Applications  

(a) An application for a Registration to operate a Support Center shall be submitted to the Department on forms 

provided by the Department. 

(b) A Registration may be issued upon presentation of evidence satisfactory to the Department that the Support 

Center applicant is in compliance with applicable statutes and these rules.  

(c) A Registration applicant shall not knowingly make any false statement in connection with the application for a 

Registration or change of ownership. 

(d) A Registration applicant shall comply with these rules and regulations and Georgia law. 

(e) A Registration applicant shall provide the Department access to the Support Center and to information pertinent 

to the initial Registration of the Support Center. 

(f) A person or business entity authorized under Georgia law may not register with the Department as a Support 

Center within one (1) year of a prior license, permit or Registration denial, revocation or suspension. 

Authority: O.C.G.A. § 20-1A-1 et seq. 
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591-3-1-.05 Enforcement and Penalties 

No Support Center shall operate in the State without a Registration that has been issued by the Department. A 

Registration for a Support Center may be denied, revoked, restricted or suspended, if applicable, in accordance with 

the following: 

(a) Refusal of a Registration. The Department shall refuse to issue a Registration in the following instances:  

   1.  Where a Registration applicant submits a Registration application within one (1) year of a prior license, permit 

or Registration denial, revocation or suspension; or 

   2. Where a Registration applicant who has transferred ownership or governing authority of a program subject to 

regulation by the Department within one (1) year of the date of a new application when such transfer was made in 

order to avert denial, revocation or suspension of such license or Registration; or 

   3. Where a Registration applicant knowingly makes any false statement of material information in connection with 

an application or on any documents submitted to the Department or in the alteration or falsification of records 

maintained by the Support Center; or  

   4. Where a Registration applicant fails to meet the Registration requirements prescribed under these rules or 

Georgia law within a reasonable amount of time. 

(b) Revocation of a Registration. The Department may revoke a Registration in the following instances: 

   1. Where a Support Center fails to report a known arrest or change in the Satisfactory Records Check 

Determination of any Eligible Employee; or  

   2. Where the Department determines that a non-correctable deficiency, abuse or dereliction exists in the operation 

or management of the Support Center; or 

   3. Where the Department determines that a correctable abuse, dereliction or deficiency in the operation or 

management of the Support Center has not been corrected within a reasonable time. 

(c) Suspension of a Registration. The Department may suspend the Registration to operate a Support Center for a 

definite period or for an indefinite period in connection with any condition which may be attached to the restoration 

of the Registration. 

Authority: O.C.G.A. § 20-1A-1 et seq. 
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591-3-1-.06 Severability 

In the event that any rule, sentence, clause or phrase of any of these rules and regulations may be construed by any 

court of competent jurisdiction to be invalid, illegal, unconstitutional, or otherwise unenforceable, such 

determination or adjudication shall in no manner affect the remaining rules or portions thereof. The remaining rules 

or portions thereof shall remain in full force and effect, as if such rule or portions thereof so determined, declared or 

adjudged invalid or unconstitutional were not originally a part of these rules. 

Authority: O.C.G.A. § 20-1A-1 et seq. 
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591-3-1-.07 E-Mail Contact Information 

Each Support Center registered in the state of Georgia shall provide the Department with e-mail contact information 

so that this agency may contact the Support Center and send information to the Support Center via email.  It shall be 

the responsibility of the Support Center to maintain correct contact information, to update the Department if contact 

information changes, and to respond timely to information requests from the Department transmitted to the provided 

e-mail address. Delivery of any such information, including but not limited to directives, bulletins, data requests, 

notices of proposed amendments to rules and regulations, and any other matters affecting Support Centers, to said e-

mail address shall be considered valid so long as the Department does not receive a failure to deliver message. 

 

(a) All applicants for Registration shall submit a valid e-mail address to the Department at the time of application on 

forms provided by the Department. 

Authority: O.C.G.A. § 20-1A-1 et seq. 


