Child Care Learning Center

PARENT HANDBOOK



Bright from the Start: Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning

Important Information for Parents and Guardians

Dear Parent:

This child care learning center (CCLC) is licensed with the Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning, to provide child care for 7+ children for pay.

This CCLC is required to keep certain information on file in the interest and for the protection of the children enrolled. You can help by providing the following in the CCLC:

- 1. The information requested on the Child Enrollment Record including Emergency & Illness Contact Information, Medical Emergency Statement, Travel Permission, Child Schedule & Interest Information.
- 2. A copy of your child's current immunization record.
- 3. Written permission from you at any time that the CCLC is asked to administer medicine to your child.
- 4. A formula and feeding schedule for your child if he/she is under one year of age

What does it mean to be licensed as a child care licensing center?

Georgia law requires any place operated by an individual or any business entity recognized under Georgia law wherein are received for pay for group care, for fewer than 24 hours per day without transfer of legal custody, seven or more children under 18 years of age and which is required to be licensed. Child Care Learning Center also includes any day care center previously licensed by the Department of Human Resources and transferred pursuant to Code Section 20-1A-1 et seq. The Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning licenses and monitors child care learning centers under the Rules and Regulations for Child Care Learning Centers Chapter 591-1-1.

A licensing system that has been established by Georgia's Department of Early Care and Learning (DECAL) enables child care learning centers (CCLC) to come into compliance with the Child Care Learning Centers Rules and Regulations. A CCLC continuously monitors for rule compliance and certifies that the CCLC will maintain compliance with the Rules and Regulations for Child Care Learning Centers.

The CCLC director, all staff and provisional staff, and any other adult who assists in the care of children must obtain satisfactory comprehensive records check determinations.

All Licenses are issued by Bright from the Start: Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning. The CCLC is required to renew its' license annually by paying a licensing fee which is determined by the number of children the CCLC is licensed to house.

What are the rules for child care learning centers?

The rules and regulations cover such areas as the staff's training and qualifications, admission of the children to the program, health and safety, nutrition and food service, activities, safe sleeping and resting, building hazards, playgrounds, transportation, and equipment. The child care learning center will have a copy of the Rules and Regulations for Child Care Learning Centers for you to view upon request. The child care learning center will have a copy of the Rules and Regulations for Child Care Learning Centers for you to view upon request. You may also view the Child Care Learning Center Rules and Regulations by visiting our website at: www.decal.ga.gov.

SELECTING A CHILD CARE LEARNING CENTER FOR YOUR CHILD

Choosing child care is one of the most important decisions a family will make. Families can make informed decisions by visiting programs and obtaining current information.

Study after study has highlighted the importance of early quality care and its effects on a child's health, development, and education. Questions about finding quality child care? Call 1-877-ALL GA Kids (1-877-255-4254). To search for child care, look at monitoring visits, and view additional information about child care programs, go to families.decal.ga.gov/ChildCare/Search.

Other important things to consider are:

- You have talked personally with the Director, and you are satisfied that the way the center staff cares for children fits in with your beliefs about child care.
- You have physically visited the center on multiple occasions during different times of the day to get a feel for the staff/child interactions and atmosphere.
- The center is a pleasant place where spending the day would be comfortable and fun.

- The center has clean, safe places that are in good repair for the children to play, both inside and outdoors.
- There are enough toys and equipment for children to have choices and activities are provided for the children to have an opportunity to learn from a variety of items.
- Well-balanced meals and snacks are served.
- The center environment appears to be free from hazards that could prove dangerous to the child. For example:
 - > Cleansers and medicines are out of reach
 - > Extension cords are not in use
 - > Outdoor play area is fenced or protected from the street and water hazards
- Discipline techniques are not harmful, injurious or humiliating to the child.
- There is a comfortable, clean place for naps.
- Infants are taken out of their cribs during the day, are held and cuddled, and given opportunities for ageappropriate activities are provided.
- Children are encouraged to learn self-help skills in dressing, feeding, and toileting.
- Plans for each day include indoor and outdoor time, quiet and active games and a variety of different activities.
- The center readily supplies parents with information about menus, the daily schedule, and recent Child Care Services monitoring visits.
- Staff show interest in each child and their professional development.

Are child care learning centers visited by the Department of Early Care and Learning?

All child care learning centers are inspected by Child Care Services (CCS) of the Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning (DECAL) a minimum of two times per year for a licensing study and a monitoring visit. Additional visits are made, if necessary, with all complaints being investigated. It is extremely important that you, as a parent, be aware of the quality of care being provided for your child. Parents have the right to go into any area of the center used by their child for child care any time during the center's operating hours when their child is present. Parents are also encouraged to ask centers to share documentation from their most recent visit completed by a CCS consultant. Parents can also go online to view facility visits at our website, www.decal.ga.gov.

Bright from the Start: Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning contact information for concerns or complaints:

Please visit our website at: <u>Child Care Services</u>
General Information or Report a Complaint (404) 657-5562 or <u>ChildCareServices@decal.ga.gov</u>

Mailing addressing:
Bright from the Start:
Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive SE
670 East Tower
Atlanta, GA 30334

Child Enrollment Record

On the following pages you will find the Child Enrollment Record. You must complete an individual Child Enrollment Record for each child enrolled in the child care learning center. The parent/guardian of the child is to provide current and complete information on the form as requested, ensuring that the program is notified when changes are made. Included with the form is an Infant Feeding Plan, which should be completed in addition to the Child Enrollment Record if you are enrolling a child under the age of 1 year.

SAMPLE CHILDREN'S ENROLLMENT FORM

Entrance Date	Withdrawal Date _		
Child's Name	Sex Age	Date of birth	
Home Address (Street)			
City	State	Zip	
Home Phone Number			
Father's Name	Home Phone Number		
Father's Home Address (if different from chi	ld's) Street		
City	State	Zip	
Father's Place of Employment		Work Phone	
Employer's Street Address	City	StateZip	
Mother's Name	Home Phone Number		
Mother's Home Address (if different from ch	ild's) Street		
City	State	Zip	
Mother's Place of Employment		Work Phone #	
Employer's Street Address	City	StateZip	
Child's Living Arrangements: (check one)	() Both Parents () Mother	() Father () Other	
Child's Legal Guardian(s): (check one) () Both Parents () Mother () Father () Other	
The child may be released to the person(s) sig	gning this agreement or to the	following:	
*Name	Address (Street-City-State-Zip)		
Telephone Number	Relationship t	o child	
Relationship to Parent(s) or Guardian Other identifying information (if any)			
*Name	Address (Street-City-State-Zip)		
Telephone Number	Relationship t	o child	
Relationship to Farent(s) of Guardian			
Other identifying information (if any)			

Name	Telephone Number
Name	Telephone Number
	Telephone Number
	attends, if any:
	, , ,
	;
The following special accommodation(s)	may be required to most effectively meet my child's needs while
at the center.	
	rescribed for long-term continuous use and/or has the following pre- erns: UTHORIZATION
Should (child's name)	Date of birth
and the facility is unable to contact me (v	re of (Facility name)us) immediately, it shall be authorized to secure such medical attention ry. I (We) shall assume responsibility for payment for services.
Parent/Guardian:	
Date:	Signature
Facility Administrator/Person-In-Cl	
Date:	Signature
Date.	

Persons to contact in the case of emergency when parent or guardian cannot be reached:

Parental Agreements with Child Care Facility

The		ees to provide child care for facility)		
		on	a.m. to	p.m.
(Name of the from	Child)	(Days of Week)		
	(Month)	(Month)		
My child v	vill participate in	the following meal plan (circle app	-	acks):
		Break		
		Morning	-	
		Lun	ch	
		Afternoo	on Snack	
		Evening	Snack	
		Din		
		Bedtime		
child; nam	e of medication; j	spensed to my child, I will provide prescription number; if any; dosaginer with my child's name marked	es; date and time of da	on, which includes: date; name of ay medication is to be given. Medicine
•	vill not be allowed or facility person	-	out being escorted by	the parent(s), person authorized by
occur, e.g.		onsibility to keep my child's recorders, work location, emergency contion records, etc.		
	y agrees to keep ras, etc., which inc	ne informed of any incidents, included my child.	uding illnesses, injurie	s, adverse reactions to
	nsportation, field is more than two	trips, special activities away from		n me before my child participates in related activities occurring in
I authorize	the child care fac	cility to obtain emergency medical	care for my child whe	en I am not available.
I have rece	vived a copy and a	agree to abide by the policies and p	procedures for	
(Name of	Facility)	·		
				ng to my child's care as well as any participation is encouraged in facility
Signed:			Data	
(Parent/Gu	uardian)		Date:	
(Parent/Gl	iaiulali)			
Signed:			Date:	
(Engility A	dministrator/Dara	on-In-Charge)	Date.	
$(\Gamma a CIII ty A$	ammstrator/Pers	on-m-Charge)		

INFANT FEEDING PLAN

Child's Full Name			Da	ite
Does the child take a base Is the bottle warmed? Does the child hold over Can the child feed self	vn bottle? Ye	s [] No []		
Does the child eat: (ch Strained Foods [] Baby Foods [] Formula []	whole Milk [] Table Food [] Other []			
What type formula use Amount and time of for	ed, if applicable? ormula/breast milk to be g	iven?		Date
	UPDATED AMOU	UNTS OF FORMULA/	BREAST MILK	TO BE GIVEN
DATE	TIME	AMOU	NT	ТҮРЕ
Does the child take a p	pacifier? Yes [] No [If yes, when?		
	11	NTRODUCTION OF S	OLID FOODS	
parent discussed with foods? Yes The child has reached Can hold his/her head Opens mouth/leans for Closes lips around a specific parent discussed with foods?	the child's primary caregi No [] the following developmer steady? rward in anticipation of fo	ver that the child has me Parent Initials: ntal skills: od offered?	t appropriate devo	No [] No [] No [] No []
Instructions for the int	roduction of solid foods _			
Food likes				
Food dislikes				
Allergies? (including a	any premixed formula)			
		AMOUNTS/TYPE O	F FOOD TO B	
TIME	A	MOUNT		TYPE
Any updated instructions regarding adding new foods or other dietary changes, please list as needed				
PARENT'S SIGNAT	URE:		Da	ate:

Safe Sleep Practices Policy

Child's name:	Date of birth:			
Parent/Guardian name:				
Safe Sleep Practices/Policies:				
1) Infants will be placed on their backs in a crib to sleep unless a physician's written statement authorizing another sleep position for that infant is provided. The written statement must include how the infant shall be placed to sleep and a time frame that the instructions are to be followed.				
2) Cribs shall be in compliance with CPCS and ASTM safety st from hazards.	tandards. They will be maintained in good repair and free			
3) No objects will be placed in or on the crib with an infant. pillows, quilts, comforters, bumper pads, sheepskins, stuffed	•			
4) No objects will be attached to a crib with a sleeping infant mobiles.	t, such as, but not limited to, crib gyms, toys, mirrors and			
5) Only sleepers, sleep sacks and wearable blankets provided commercial manufacturer's guidelines and will not slip up an sleeping infant.				
6) Individual crib bedding will be changed daily, or more ofte will be laundered daily or marked for individual use. If mark weekly or more frequently if needed. This facility will adhere	ed for individual use, the sheets/covers must be laundered			
7) Infants who arrive at the center asleep or fall asleep in oth safety-approved crib for sleep.	her equipment, on the floor or elsewhere, will moved to a			
8) Swaddling will not be permitted, unless a physician's write provided. The written statement must include instructions a				
9) Wedges, other infant positioning devices and monitors wi authorizing its use for a particular infant is provided. The wr device and a time frame for using it.				
I acknowledge that the director or designee has advised	d me of the safe sleep practices followed by the facility.			
Signature Da	ate			