BRIGHT FROM THE START

Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, SE, Suite 754, East Tower, Atlanta, Georgia 30334
(404) 656-5957

Nathan Deal Bobby Cagle, MSW

GOVERNOR COMMISSIONER
January 3, 2014

CERTIFIED MAIL #7013 1090 0000 5589 7665

Ms. Kawana Sellers Received By: Date:
Family Day Care Home
2232 Monaco Drive Delivered By: - B Date:

Columbus, Georgia 31903
RE: Notice of Revocation
Dear Ms. Sellers:

On December 27, 2012, the Child Care Services Division of Bright from the Start: Georgia Department of Early
Care and Learning (Bright from the Start) concluded a complaint investigation of Kawana Sellers’ family day care
home located at 2232 Monaco Drive, Columbus, Georgia 31903. Bright from the Start determined that rule
violations occurred which could have seriously affected the health and safety of children and demonstrated the
intentional and reckless disregard for the physical and mental health and safety of children.

Bright from the Start has determined that a non-correctable deficiency, abuse or dereliction exists in the operation or
management of the family day care home. On multiple occasions, you left your 13-year-old son alone to supervise
children enrolled in the family day care home. Two children have reported to law enforcement that during these
periods they were touched inappropriately by the 13-year-old. Pursuant to a court order, you are currently not
allowed to operate the family day care home.

Based on your noncompliance with the Rules and Regulations for Family Day Care Homes, you are hearby notified
of the intent of Bright from the Start to revoke your registration. Bright from the Start’s legal authority for
revocation is found in O.C.G.A. Sections 20-1A-1 ef seq. and Bright from the Start Rules for Family Day Care
Homes, Chapter 290-2-3 of the Official Compilation of the Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia. The rule
violations for which Bright from the Start is revoking the family day care home license are attached hereto as
Exhibit “A” and incorporated in this Notice by reference.

In accordance with O.C.G.A. § 20-1A-10(o) this revocation becomes effective 30 days from receipt of this Notice.
You have the right to appeal the decision to revoke your registration to operate a family day care home by filing a
written request for an administrative hearing before an Administrative Law Judge with the Office of State
Administrative Hearings. The request must be made in writing, postmarked within 10 days of receipt of this Notice,
and addressed to:
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Ira Sudman
Chief Legal Officer
Bright from the Start

Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, SE, Suite 754, East Tower
Atlanta, Georgia 30334

Pursuant to O.C.G.A. Section 20-1A-13(c)(3), the family day care home must stay closed during the appeal process.

If you do not appeal this action within 10 days of receipt of this Notice, the decision to revoke your registration will
be final. Licensure staff will conduct a follow-up visit to verify closure.

Sincerely,

Mot deeers
l%istie Lewis
Assistant Commissioner

Attachment

cc: Deidria Bolden
Ira Sudman
Elisabetta Kasfir
April Rogers
Jonathan Davis
Marva Reid
Sherry Smith
Meggan Hemans-Reese
Laura Davis
Sandra Kelley
Colette Upshaw
State File
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List of Rule Violations for:

Kawana Sellers
2232 Monaco Drive
Columbus, Georgia 31903

1. Rule 290-2-3-.04(2)(d)(1) requires that in order to retain a registration, the provider of the family day care
home and its employees must be qualified to administer or work in a family day care home. Bright from the
Start may require reasonable verification of qualifications of the provider at any time whenever Bright from

the Start has reason to believe or is shown by credible evidence that a provider is not qualified under Bright
from the Start’s rules to administer or work in a family day care home.

On December 12, 2013, the Juvenile Court of Columbus, Georgia ordered the provider to close her family day care
home while charges of molestation against her son are pending. As of the date of this Notice, the charges are still
pending and there has been no final hearing.

2. Rule 290-2-3-.04(2)(d)(1) requires that in order to retain a registration, the provider of the family day care
home and its employees must be qualified to administer or work in a family day care home. Bright from the
Start may require reasonable verification of qualifications of the provider at any time whenever Bright from
the Start has reason to believe or is shown by credible evidence that a provider is not qualified under Bright
from the Start’s rules to administer or work in a family day care home.

During an investigation, it was determined that on multiple occasions, the provider left her 13-year-old son alone to
supervise children enrolled in the family day care home. Two children have reported to law enforcement that during
these periods they were touched in appropriately by the 13-year-old. The provider’s actions show a dangerous lack of
good judgment, and her behavior shows her to be unqualified to administer a family day care home.

3. Rule 290-2-3-.14(2) requires provider to report within twenty-four hours or the next working day, any case
of suspected child abuse, neglect or deprivation to the local county Department of Family and Children
Services in accordance with O.C.G.A. Sec. 19-7-5, and to the Child Care Licensing Office.

During an investigation, it was determined that the provider was notified on November 20, 2013, of an incident of

suspected sexual abuse in the family day care home. However, the provider failed to notify Muscogee County
Department of Family and Children Services and Bright from the Start of this incident.

EXHIBIT “A”
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