
EXEMPTION CATEGORIES CLARIFICATION 

Types of programs eligible to apply for exemption from being licensed as a Child Care Learning Center and the 
required documentation. If a program is not approved for exemption, it must obtain a license to operate. 

All license-exempt facilities must meet all local requirements such as complying with building, zoning, and fire 

regulations. In addition to the specific supporting documents required for each category, the following will need to 

be submitted along with the application. Each document should be current and within the last 12 months if 

applicable: 

 Approved zoning letter (if applicable) within the last 12 months 

 State or local municipality fire inspection within the last 12 months 

 Fire Certificate of Occupancy 

 Building Certificate of Occupancy 

If program ownership is listed as corporation, please submit the following as applicable: 

 Certificate of Incorporation 

 Articles of Incorporation/organization 

 By-Laws 

Category Rule Type of Program Submit with Application 

1 

591-1-1-.46(b)1: Programs which are 
owned and operated by any department 
or agency of state, county, or municipal 
government. This includes, but is not 
limited to, the customary school day, as 
defined in Georgia law, and before- and/or 
after- school programs in public schools 
operated by the public school system and 
staffed with school system employees and 
recreation programs operated by city or 
county parks and recreation departments 
and staffed with city or county employees. 

Public recreation 
parks, after-school, or 

summer camp 
programs operated by 

a public entity. 

1) Statement on 
government entity’s 
letterhead that program 
is owned and operated 
by the government 
system that is applying; 
staff are employees of 
that government system. 

2) Notice of Exemption 
Language** 

2 

591-1-1-.46(b)2: Private non-public 
educational programs with an established 
curriculum for children five (5) years and 
older that operate during the school term 
for the customary school day, as defined 
by Georgia law. 

Exemption Optional if accredited by 
accrediting entities listed in O.C.G.A. § 20-
3- 519(6)(A). See list below. 

(i) The Southern Association 

of Colleges and Schools; 

(ii) The Georgia Accrediting  

Commission; 

(iii) The Georgia Association 

of Christian Schools; 

(iv) The Association of Christian 

Schools International 

(v) The Georgia Private School 

Accreditation 

Private schools for 
ages five (5) and older, 

operate 180 days 
each year, at least 7.5 

hours each day. 

1) Notice of Exemption  
language** 
2) Operating information such as 
Policies or Procedures or Parent 
Handbook. 
3) Parental enrollment form. 
4) curriculum for children 
five years and older. 
5) Material used to advertise in 
the community, if applicable. 



  (vi) The Southern Association of 

Independent Schools; 

(vii) The Accrediting Commission for 

Independent Study. (O.C.G.A § 

203- 519(6.1)(A). 

    

3 

591-1-1-.46(b)3: A private non-public 
school which provides education in any 
grades from kindergarten through 12th 

grade, meets the requirements under 
Georgia law for private schools (See 
O.C.G.A. § 20-2-690), and is accredited by 
one or more of the entities listed in 
O.C.G.A. § 20-3-519(6)(A) and which 
provides care before, after, or both before 
and after the customary school day, as 
defined in Georgia law, to its students as an 
auxiliary service to such students during 
the regular school year only. The 
accrediting entities listed in O.C.G.A. § 20-
3-519(6)(A) are: 

(i) The Southern Association 

of Colleges and Schools; 

(ii) The Georgia Accrediting  

Commission; 

(iii) The Georgia Association 

of Christian Schools; 

(iv) The Association of Christian 

Schools International  

(v) The Georgia Private School 

Accreditation 

(vi) The Southern Association of 

Independent Schools; 

(vii) The Accrediting Commission for 

Independent Study. (O.C.G.A § 

203- 519(6.1)(A). 

Accredited private  
schools, before- and  

after-school care  
for full-day  
students. 

1) Notice of Exemption  

language** 
2) Operating information such as 
Policies or Procedures or Parent 
Handbook 

3) Parental enrollment form 
4) Material used to advertise in 
the community, if applicable. 

5) Accreditation Certificate 

4 

591-1-1-.46(b)4: Accredited private 
nonpublic educational programs with an 
established curriculum for four-year-old 
children for the customary school day, as 
defined in Georgia law, that are not part of 
a full-day Child Care Learning Center and are 
an integral part of an accredited private 
non-public school that provides elementary 
or secondary instruction or both, providing 
the accreditation specifically covers these 
ages; any before- and/or after-school-hours 
care for four-year-old children who attend 
such a program as described above, 
provided the children do not leave the 
premises of the accredited private 
nonpublic school and the program is staffed 

Accredited private  
schools for four (4)-  

years old, before/after  

care for enrolled full  
day students. 

1) Notice of Exemption  

language** 
2) Operating information such as 
Policies or Procedures or Parent 
Handbook 

3) Parental enrollment form 
4) Material used to advertise in 
the community, if applicable. 

5) Accreditation certificate 
6) Curriculum for children four (4)-
years old. 



  with employees of that private non-public     

  school.     

 

5 

591-1-1-.46(b)5: Parent’s Morning Out, 
Parent’s Night Out, or similar programs 
which operate for no more than one 
session of up to four (4) consecutive hours 
per day and which limit attendance to no 
more than eight (8) hours a week per child. 

Programs for any  
ages, no more than  
four (4) hours a day,  
not to exceed eight  
(8) hours per week,  

cannot be combined  
with other categories  
for the same children  

attending. 

1) Notice of Exemption  

language** 

2) Operating information such as 
Policies or Procedures or Parent 
Handbook 

3) Parental enrollment form 
4) Material used to advertise in 
the community, if applicable 

5) Attendance policy 

6 

591-1-1-.46(b)6: Nursery schools, 
playschools, kindergartens, or other 
educational programs for children two 
(2) years through six (6) years of age that 
operate for no more than four (4) 
consecutive hours per day. 

Programs for ages 2-  
6, up to four (4) hours  
each day, cannot be  
combined with other  

categories for the  
same children  

attending. 

1) Notice of Exemption  
language** 

2) Operating information such as 
Policies or Procedures or Parent 
Handbook 

3) Parental enrollment form 
4) Material used to advertise in 
the community, if applicable. 

7 

591-1-1-.46(b)7: Day camp programs for 
children five (5) years and older that are 
operated between school terms, whose 
primary purpose is to provide organized 
recreational, religious, or instructional 
activities. The day camp programs may 
operate during summer and other school 
breaks and shall operate for no more 
than twelve (12) hours per day. 

Summer- and/or 
school-break camps 
for ages five (5) and 
older, not to exceed 
12 hours each day. 

1) Notice of Exemption 
language** 2) Operating 
information such as Policies or 
Procedures or Parent Handbook 
3) Parental enrollment form 
4) Material used to advertise in 
the community, if applicable. 

8 

591-1-1-.46(b)8: Short-term educational 
or recreational activities or classes for 
children in which the supervision and care 
of the children are incidental to their 
participation in the activity or training in 
specific subjects, such as, but not limited 
to, music lessons, dance classes, swim 
lessons, etc. The provider is not assuming 
responsibility for supervision and care of 
the children outside of the classes or 
activities the children participate in and 
shall not advertise or otherwise represent 
that childcare services are offered. 

Extracurricular 
activities or classes, 
short-term refers to 
no more than ten (10) 

hours per week. 

1) Notice of Exemption  
language** 

2) Operating information such as 
Policies or Procedures or Parent 
Handbook 

3) Parental enrollment form 
4) Material used to advertise in 
the community, if applicable. 

5) Class schedule 

9 

591-1-1-.46(b)9: Any short-term 
childcare service provided by an 
establishment, such as, but not limited to, 
a religious facility, health club, or retail 
store, and such program or service meets 
all of the following: 

Childcare services  
with parents on site,  
offered up to 4 hours  

per day, not to  
exceed 10 hours per  

week 

1) Notice of Exemption  
language** 
2) Operating information such as 
Policies or Procedures or Parent 
Handbook 

3) Parental enrollment form 
4) Material used to advertise in 
the community, if applicable. 



  (i) Operated on the premises of the 
establishment; 

(ii) Operated for the convenience of 
the parents and for the use of on-duty 
employees or students attending classes; 
(iii) Parents are participating in activities 
provided by the establishment on the 
premises of the establishment; (iv) 
Parents are readily available; 
(v) Attendance of child in the short-term 
child care service is limited to no more 
than four (4) hours per day and no more 
than ten (10) hours per week, except in 
the instance of child care services offered 
at infrequent events such as, but not 
limited to, conferences and weddings. 

    

10 

591-1-1-.46(b)10: Programs operated after 
the customary school day, as defined in 
Georgia law, for children five (5) years and 
older that are strictly instructional and skill 
based in a single talent, ability, expertise, 
proficiency or subject or in closely related 
skills, proficiencies or subjects, including 
but not limited to classes such as art, 
cheerleading, dance, drama, gymnastics, 
martial arts and music, and the programs 
comply with all of the following: 
(i) Programs provide direct 
instruction in the single skill or subject 
and/or closely related skills or subjects to 
every child each day the child is present. 

(ii) Programs do not provide services 
that are not directly related to the single 
skill or subject or to the closely related 
skills or subjects, such as but not limited to 
homework assistance. During the hours of 
operation, programs may provide services 
related to the instruction, such as 
transportation and giving children time to 
change into proper clothes/gear; (iii) 
Programs shall not advertise or otherwise 
represent that the program is a childcare 
facility, an after- school program, or that 
the program offers childcare services. 
(iv) Programs shall not prepare meals and 
snacks, but may provide ready-to-eat 
snacks, such as pre-packaged snacks; (v) 
The majority of the program staff 
responsible for instruction shall possess 
specialized qualifications to instruct in 
that skill or subject, and the program shall 
submit documentation of such specialized 
qualifications of staff to the Department at 
the time of application for exemption or as 
requested by the Department; 

Programs for children  
ages five (5) and older  
offering lessons in a  
single extracurricular  

skill or subject or  
closely related skills  
or subject and not  

related to school or  
homework assistance,  

limited to the  
customary school  

year, provided in the  
hours after the  

customary school day,  
staff must possess  

specialized  
credentials. 

1) Notice of Exemption language** 
2) Operating information such as 
Policies or Procedures or Parent 
Handbook 

3) Parental enrollment form 
4) Material used to advertise in 
the community, if applicable. 

5) Daily schedule 
6) Curriculum, if applicable 

7) Staff credentials, such as 
a degree, or relevant college 
transcripts or certification. 
(See 591-1-1-.46(b)10(v)) 8) 
Notice of Risk Language*** 



  (vi) Programs shall inform parents 
about the physical risks a child may face 
while participating in the program. 
(vii) Such programs shall not be 
an integral part of a licensed Child 
Care Learning Center; 
(viii) Enrollment information shall 
clearly define the duration of the program. 

    

11 

591-1-1-.46(b)11: Short term educational 
programs offered to school-aged children in 
which the supervision and care of the 
children are incidental to their participation 
in the short-term educational program, and 
the provider is not assuming responsibility 
for the provision of daily childcare outside 
the scheduled program. The majority of 
staff responsible for the direct delivery of 
education services to children possesses 
specialized qualifications that are directly 
related to the short-term educational 
programs being offered, and the program 
shall submit documentation of such 
specialized qualifications to the Department 
at the time of application for exemption or 
as requested by the Department. The sole 
or primary purpose of such short-term 
educational programs is: 
(i) To prepare children for 
advancement to the next educational 
level through a prescribed course of study 
or curriculum; 
(ii) To provide specialized tutoring 
services through a prescribed course of 
study or curriculum to assist children with 
the passage of mandatory educational 
proficiency examinations. 
( ) To provide specialized tutoring 
services through a prescribed course of 
study or curriculum to assist children in 
specific academic areas, such as, but not 
limited to, foreign language, mathematics, 
science, etc. 

Programs providing  
short-term  
educational  

assistance up to 10  
hours each week,  
staff must possess  

specialized  
credentials for school  

age children. 

1) Notice of Exemption  
language** 

2) Operating information such as 
Policies or Procedures or Parent 
Handbook 
3) Parental enrollment form 
4) Material used to advertise in 
the community, if applicable. 

5) Daily Schedule 
6) Curriculum or Course of Study 
7) Staff credentials, such as a 
degree, or relevant college 
transcripts or certification. 



  591-1-1-.46(b)12: Any program or facility Programs operated by 1) Notice of Exemption 

  providing care for school-aged children that or affiliated with language** 

  is operated by, or in affiliation with a national membership 2) Operating information such 
as   national membership non-profit organizations such as Policies or Procedures or Parent 

  organization that was created for the the Boys and Girls Handbook 

  purpose of providing youth services and 
youth development, that charges a 
membership fee for children and may 
receive monthly, weekly, or daily fees for 

Club 8) Parental enrollment form 
9) Material used to advertise in 
the community, if applicable 
10) Verification that program is 
in 12 services. Such program or facility holds 

membership in good standing and is 
certified by its national association as 
complying with the association’s purposes, 
procedures, minimum standards, and 
mandatory requirements. Such national 
membership organizations include, but are 
not limited to, the Boys and Girls Clubs of 

  good standing with national 
organization. 

  America.     
 

13 

591-1-1-.46(b)13: Any program providing 
group care for children for no pay. 

Group-care programs 
that receive no pay, 
donations, or in-kind 
services from families 

in exchange for 
services. 

1) Notice of Exemption  
language** 

2) Operating information such as 
Policies or Procedures or Parent 
Handbook 

3) Parental enrollment form 
4) Material used to advertise in 
the community, if applicable. 
5) Notice of Free Program 
language**** 

6) Current Budget 
7) Funding Source 

14 

591-1-1-.46(b)14: A Center that is licensed 
by the Department may request an 
exemption from licensure if the Center’s 
program is an integral part of an 
established religious congregation or 
religious school that conducts regularly 
scheduled classes, courses of study, or 
educational programs, and is a member of 
or accredited by or certified by a state, 
regional, or national accrediting agency for 
religious educational instruction or a state, 
regional, or national accrediting agency for 
educational instruction as recognized and 
approved by the Department if such 
accrediting entity uses standards that are 
substantially similar to those established by 
the Department. In addition to the 
requirements listed above applicable to all 
exemptions, the following additional 
requirements shall apply to Centers 
seeking an exemption under this provision: 

(i) A Center seeking such exemption 
from licensure shall be required to submit 
to the Department documentation of 
certification or accreditation, including a 
copy of its most recent certification or 
accreditation inspection report, and any 

Licensed Child Care 
Learning Centers 
affiliated with 
accredited religious 
schools, accreditation 
documentation 
submitted annually, all 
staff undergo criminal 
background checks, 
must relinquish 
childcare license if 
granted exemption. 

1) Notice of Exemption  

language** 

2) Operating information such as 
Policies or Procedures or Parent 
Handbook 

3) Parental enrollment form 
4) Material used to advertise in 
community, if applicable 
5) Copy of latest Accreditation 
Inspection Report 

6) Notice of Liability Insurance 
Coverage language***** 
7) Proof of License 
8) Exemption Application 
Attachment A 

9) Staff Roster 
10) Evidence that the program 
is an integral part of a religious 
organization or a school 
organized by a religious entity. 



other pertinent documentation as 
requested by the 
Department, such as non-profit tax-
exempt verification. The accrediting 
agency must conduct regularly scheduled 
visits to the program while such program 
remains accredited. 

(ii) If such exemption is granted, the 
program shall submit annual documentation 
to the Department verifying its continued 
certification or accreditation, including a 
copy of its most recent certification or 
accreditation inspection report, and other 
pertinent documentation as may be 
requested by the Department. 
(iii) Such exemptions granted by the 
Department are valid as long as the 
program remains certified or accredited. 
The program shall provide the Department 
written notice within five (5) business days 
of the program’s loss of certification or 
accreditation, including a copy of such 
notification from the certifying or 
accrediting entity. The Department shall 
rescind the program’s exemption granted 
herein upon notification of the loss of 
certification or accreditation. 

(iv) Any Center seeking such 
exemption shall comply with all applicable 
requirements for background checks for 
Directors, Provisional Employees and 
Employees as required in O.C.G.A. § 201A30 
et seq., Chapter 591-1-1, Rules for Child 
Care Learning Centers, Department policies, 
as well as applicable local, regional, and 
state health department, state fire marshal, 
and local fire prevention 
guidelines/requirements while such 
exemption is in effect. The Department 
retains jurisdiction over programs granted 
such exemption to conduct unannounced 
periodic background check audits and to 
conduct complaint investigations regarding 
compliance with background check 
requirements, as well as compliance with 
local, regional, and state health department, 
state fire marshal, and local fire prevention 
guidelines/requirements. 

    



  
(v) The Department may rescind such 
exemption for a program’s failure to 
comply with the requirements for 
background checks for directors/employees 
pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 20-1A-30 et seq., 
Chapter 591-1-1, Rules for Child Care 
Learning Centers, and Department policies. 

(i) Any Center applying for such 
exemption that is owned and/or under the 
legal control/direction of the certifying or 
accrediting entity shall not be approved by 
the Department. 

(iii) A Center seeking such exemption 
shall adopt and comply with the minimum 
standards of its certifying or accrediting 
entity for the operation of the Center’s 
program. Such minimum standards 
adopted by the Center shall be published 
and made available to parents of enrolled 
or prospective children upon request. 
(v) A program granted such 
exemption shall comply with the 
requirements regarding notification to 
parents of enrolled children if the program 
does not carry liability insurance. 

    

*All Notice documents should include a statement that parents or guardians must sign, confirming that they understand 
what the language in the document says. 
**Notice of Exemption language should explain that the program is not licensed by the state and is not required to be. 
***Notice of Risk language should explain that children participating in the program activities may face physical risks. 
****Notice of Free Program language should explain that families are not required to pay fees, make donations, or provide 
in-kind services to participate in the program. 

*****Notice of Liability Insurance Coverage language should indicate whether or not the program carries liability insurance. 

 


